Finally Elijah - Elijah Levi and the Tatsu Aoki Quartet


The Tatsu Aoki Quartet


Acapella is how I started out, it is how I learned to sing. I am not gonna talk a long time, but this record is dedicated to my sweetness, she knows who she is, my beautiful lady, Yoko, this is definitely for you, and now I want to show you where I got all of my expertise from, ok... here we go!
- Elijah Levi, Chicago, Winter 1998

  1. Introduction - His Story :22
  2. Sweet Home Chicago 5:45
  3. Bye Bye Blackbird 5:08
  4. Fever 3:49
  5. Route 66 5:32
  6. I Want A Little Girl 5:55
  7. Stormy Monday 6:48
  8. St. Louis Blues 3:56
  9. Lullaby Of Birdland 3:36
  10. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To 4:09
  11. God Bless The Child 5:51
  12. Mac The Knife 5:58
  13. Get Here 1:45

Southport S-SSD 0051

Buy from Asian Improv aRts Midwest / aStore

Album Description, Editorial Review

With a soulful and sweet voice that spans many octaves, vocalist and entertainer Elijah Levi makes his record debut as a leader with the SOUTHPORT/NORTHPORT release of FINALLY ELIJAH. From Chicago roots that included stints with the famed INKSPOTS, and legendary late blues/swing/jazz guitarist Floyd McDaniel, Elijah is a musical vocal powerhouse that has become one of Chicago's greatest hidden treasures.

The CD includes 12 tracks that make a perfect "wish" list for the audience. The international classic "Sweet Home Chicago", track 2, has a swinging optimism that is laced with the blues. Track 4, "Fever", goes into a mellow post Peggy Lee coolness with its sweet lead vocal and fresh arrangement. In the Nat King Cole classic, "Route 66", you can feel the traffic and the pavement and the music of America's greatest road song.

The artists that create the "groove" on this CD include ensemble leader and album producer Tatsu Aoki, the bass man on all tracks. Guitarist Moto Makino, who currently tours with Chicago blues great Sugar Blue, captures the essence of multiple musical forms. On sax, the invincible Tim O'Dell, with drums provided by a constant Aoki collaborator, Dave Pavkovic.

SOUTHPORT/NORTHPORT records are true American independent labels dedicated to the recording and preservation of "Real Music Made In Chicago."

Similar Albums

You may also be interested in the following albums:

Windy Christmas

Windy Christmas
Tatsu Aoki Quartet (97)


Tim O'Dell (01)


Ron Surace with Tatsu Aoki and Dave Pavkovic (01)


Ron Surace with Tatsu Aoki and Dave Pavkovic (04)

Back to Tatsu's Discography